Hi, it’s me…Bev.

 

The pure truth is, I love to write. Anytime. Anywhere. About anything. The magical summer after fourth grade, when I spent hours perched on a limb of Kathleen Dunn’s crab apple tree writing, has stayed with me all my life.

Ah, those were heady days. School was out and Kathleen and I were doing what we liked best—reading books and pretending to be great writers. North Dakota skies stretched as far as the eye could see and the prairie wind kept the leaves rustling as we scribbled away. I never got over the feeling that writing was special and exciting and what I wanted to do forever.

Fast forward a “few” years to grown children, grandchildren, a husband who retired from the Air Force and Boeing and now golfs and gardens and you will still find me following the same passion—writing. But I no longer clamber up onto a sturdy branch surrounded by little hard green apples. Today I go to my office in the basement and tap away at my computer. Unfortunately I’m no longer surrounded by the clear blue skies enjoying the prairie breeze, but the thrill of putting words on paper is still the same. After years of writing non-fiction, I finally worked up my courage and started a novel. Now I have two. Maybe someday they’ll be published. Whatever happens, I’m having a great time.

Much of any success I have had in the last twelve years is a result of the cheerleading that comes from my writing group. We don’t critique. We don’t compete. But we do encourage. And that encouragement got me past the rejections and frustrations inherent in writing a book.

Hope you’ll join us as Paddle Creek Writers launches this blog. We’re excited to share and to get to know you and have you get to know us. We hope we have something to say that will send you running to your computer to pursue your writing adventure.

Bev.

 

2 thoughts on “Hi, it’s me…Bev.

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed
    reading it, you will be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back someday.

    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  2. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be interesting to read articles from other authors and use a
    little something from their web sites.

Leave a comment